Maxtreme Team: Part 1

Posted: May 22, 2011 in Maxtreme Team
Tags: , , , , , , ,

If you’re new to this site and you don’t find this story interesting, try reading some of the video game related posts before leaving. Just trying to practice my amateurish writing skills for fun. You can find the prologue here, which gives some important background information on the events leading up to the beginning of the story. In theory, I’ll have a video game related post later today, but I’m not so sure.

**********************************************************************************************

His real name was long forgotten, he was simply known as Racer. Foregoing the more elaborate superhero names of his peers, like the Intimidating Imp, or the Devastating Deviant, he chose a simpler name. It described him perfectly, he was Racer, the fastest person who ever lived.

The only thing he couldn’t outrun, is the incompetence of the current administration. Instead of going for a run outside, like he would like to, he was currently in board room, with other prominent members of the party, to discuss important policy matters, but the meeting couldn’t start until Dictatorman showed up. He could at least be on time at least be on time for the meetings he scheduled.

Just as Racer was getting ready to stand up and walk out, Dictatorman finally arrived. He sat down at the head of the table and began to talk as if nothing had hadn’t arrived really late and pissed everyone off, “We’ve got a lot of items on the agenda to talk about, so we should get started at once. First of all, Racer, head down to Rajiv’s and get us a couple of curry pizzas…”

“I have to do what?” Racer asked with heavy dose of  exasperation is his voice.

“Well you can’t expect us to draft policy on an empty stomach, now can you? You are the fastest aren’t you?”

He had a point there, he was the fastest. Truthfully, Racer would rather be outside than in this board room anyway. However the thought of leaving made him slightly nervous. Almost everyone else in the room, would vote in favor of whatever Dictatorman wanted, not necessarily cause they were so loyal to the party leader, but because they had no real understanding of what it is they were voting on and trusted his judgment.

Sensing racer’s apprehension Dictatorman said, “Don’t worry, we won’t vote on any policy until you get back.”

Feeling somewhat relieved by this, Racer got up and left the room. Almost as soon as he was gone, Dictatorman sad, “Okay I’ve got a couple of things I want to vote on before he gets, back. I think everyone understands these issues pretty well and there’s no reason to have a debate on it. I’ll just tell you my proposals and you guys can vote for or against.”

Racer got to Rajiv’s and ordered a couple of large curry pizzas to go, when Luigi Linguini, the notorious mob boss, walked in with a couple of thugs. Organized crime had been nearly wiped out since the heroes took control of the government, but a few mobsters continued to evade capture.

Racer would have liked to take down these mobsters himself, but as long as he was in Rajiv’s restaurant, he could do no violence. The powers protecting this place were far more ancient and powerful than anything the Maxtreme Party could ever hope to have. Instead Racer grabbed a menu to cover his face, and only when the mobsters where seated on the far side of the restaurant did he get up and ask to use Rajiv’s phone.

“Hello,” said a voice on the other end of the phone call, “You’ve reached Maxtreme Party Headquarters. If you know the extension for the office you want to call, please enter it now. If you don’t know the extension but do know the name of the person you’d like to reach, tell me and I’ll attempt to put you through.”

“I need to speak to Dictatorman,” Racer shouted.

“I’m sorry sir, but Dictatorman is in the middle of an important policy meeting.”

“This is Racer, and it’s an emergency.  I really need to talk to Dictatorman right now.”

“I’m sorry, I didn’t know it was you. I’ll try to get through to him. One moment.”

Racer waited for about a minute before the the irritated voice of Dictatorman answered, “Whatever it is, make it quick. Any minute now Racer will come back with our curry pizzas, and I don’t want to be on the phone when he gets here, I want to eat immediately.”

“This is Racer! I’m at Rajiv’s, and I’ve spotted a few of those mobsters that have managed to evade us so far, including their leader, Luigi. I need you to send some guys down here to apprehend them as soon as they leave the restaurant.”

“I don’t really have time to deal with this, I’ll put Phil on the phone.”

“Hello, this is Phil. What is it that’s so important that Dictatorman had to turn it over to somebody else?”

“Hi Phil, it’s Racer. A couple of mobster fugitives are at Rajiv’s send down some soldiers to apprehend them.”

“Sorry kid, that’s out of my jurisdiction. The Military division I command is in charge of securing our borders against invaders. Arresting criminals within our city is not my job. I’ll put you on the phone with the chief. He should be able to help you out.”

“Hello this is chief of civil order, how can I help you?”

“Hey chief, it’s Racer. I need you to send some guys down to Rajiv’s to apprehend some mobsters as soon as they leave the restaurant.”

“No problem, buddy. As soon as we’re done with this conversation I’ll call up civil order headquarters and tell them to send somebody to Rajiv’s. Expect them to arrive in about 10 minutes.”

“10 minutes? It looks like they are almost done eating can’t you get them here faster?”

“Sorry , buddy. You’ll just have to try and stall them.”

“While I have you on the phone, I always wondered what your name was, so I don’t have to call you chief all the time.”

“I don’t have time for this, I’m putting Bruce on.”

“You’ve reached chief justice Bruce, what do you want? And make it quick, I’ve already missed voting on one issue because of you.”

“Hey Bruce, It’s Racer. There’s some mobsters down at the Rajiv’s and I need you to hold the doors shut so they can’t leave. Wait you guys are voting on issues without me? What are you voting on!?”

“It’s nothing, we just voted on whether or not to raise the cocaine tax to 50%. It passed by 1 vote. Anyway, this meeting is pretty lame, heroes should be out fighting crime not sitting in a meeting. I’ll ditch this and come help you out. See you soon”

“Yeah, see ya.”

Racer continued to watch the mobsters by peeking over the top of his menu. They finished eating and were now on their way out, and Bruce still hadn’t shown up, so Racer had to keep them from leaving, at least until Bruce showed up.

“Luigi!” Racer shouted.

All three mobsters turned around to face Racer and Luigi spoke, “Well if it isn’t the fastest man in the world. Is it true you can dodge the bullets from 3 fully automatic guns, all being fired at the same time.”

“That’s true.”

“Why don’t you step outside and test it out?”

“Maybe in a few minutes, my pizzas are almost done.”

“We’ll have to do this some other time, I’m in a hurry.”

“Wait!” screamed Racer.

“What is it?”

“You’ve managed to keep you’re freedom for awhile now, but one of these days, we’re going to catch, you and throw you in prison.”

“You know what I think? I think you’re trying to stall for time while your friends come and apprehend us. Lets go boys.”

Unfortunately for them it was too late. Bruce was at the door, and try as they might, they couldn’t get it to budge an inch. They were no match for his super strength. Eventually one of the mobsters grew impatient, and said, “I know how to fix this,” and drew his pistol adn pointed it at Bruce.

As he was about to pull the trigger there was a blurry movement, and where there was once a mobster there was now a pile of bloody meat and shredded clothes. This is the fate of anyone who tries to commit violence in Rajiv’s domain. It’s fortunate that Rajiv is content to run a restaurant instead of using his tremendous power to forge an empire, like some of  his ancestors have done.

“So,” Luigi said, “you’re just going to let him block the doorway?”

“I have called the civil order department,” Rajiv said, “They say someone is already on the way.”

“That’s right,” said Racer, “they’re on their way. I’m sure Bruce will get a small fine for obstructing a business, but you will be put in prison for a long time.”

“Okay, so you’ve caught me, congratulation. There isn’t a single shred of evidence that ties me to any crime.”

“Evidence? I think you may have missed today’s paper. Chief Justice Daniels has passed away. That guy holding the door shut will be judging you. He has a personal belief in your guilt, so it looks pretty bad for you.”

A few minutes later the police cars showed up. Bruce got out of the doorway and the police arrested the 2 remaining mobsters, as well as gave Bruce a notice of the fine he has to pay to Rajiv within the week.

“Your pizzas are ready,” Rajiv said to racer.

“Lets hurry up and get these pizzas back to the meeting really quick,” Bruce said.

“Yeah,” Racer replied, “I wouldn’t want to miss any votes on government policy.”

*********************************************************************************************

Please leave any comments on the story. I’m aware that my writing is pretty amateurish, so if your going to criticize make sure its constructive and not just trolling.

Comments
  1. Fang says:

    Hm. Interesting.

  2. Curtis says:

    I’m enjoying it so far l cant wait to see what happens next was a little hard to follow at bits though could just be me though

Leave a Reply

